White Hot and Passionate is the Only Thing to Be.

“I began to realize how important it was to be an enthusiast in life…. if you are interested in something, no matter what it is, go at it at full speed ahead. Embrace it with both arms, hug it, love it and above all become passionate about it. Lukewarm is no good. Hot is no good either. White hot and passionate is the only thing to be.” – Roald Dahl

As a bookworm/English major/literature nut, I have a quote for everything. The aforementioned words penned by renowned writer Roald Dahl, who is known and loved for works such as The Witches and Matilda so concisely sums up what 2014 has been for me and for my art business. Before I resigned from my education position, Soliloquy Jewelry was cramped in the corners of my life. I would sketch pieces on my lunch break, rush home from work to catch the last of natural light for photos, and spend nights and weekends in the studio. I knew I had to go full time. I had so many ideas, such an urge to create, and so little time. Now, full speed ahead, I can wholly embrace my love affair with the craft of metalsmithing, with the white hot passion necessary for happiness and success.

Moving into 2015, I look forward to increasing my production. I’ve experienced a sharp rise in demand in the past year that I was neither expecting nor prepared for, but I am excited to meet this challenge. I will reopen for custom orders beginning on January 15th, a move which I hope will help to satisfy those who desire a piece but haven’t been able to purchase one from my shop updates. Please see my new Custom Orders section for more information.

New designs for this year are in the works, many conceptualized last year but never completed. I plan to place more focus on two of my collections in particular: the Coven Collection, inspired by witchcraft and the occult, and the Ex Libris Collection (previously the Bound & Forged Collection), of literature, poetry, and mythology inspired pieces. I am especially excited for my new palmistry inspired pendants for the Coven Collection, which I mentioned on Instagram and began sketching 3 months ago, but am just getting around to making now. Talk about being busy!

imageThese pendants incorporate symbolism from the ancient art of palm reading, with associations for each finger and area of the hand. Some of the symbolic representations are based in traditional ideas surrounding palmistry, and some are my own interpretations of various elements of this art. Watch out for these and other big stamped pendants on my Instagram, Tumblr, and Facebook soon!

Lastly, and most importantly, I want to say THANK YOU to everyone involved in my success. From my amazing customers and followers, to my friends and family, and the other wonderful metalsmiths I’ve met along the way, I endlessly appreciate your input, support, and encouragement. A big giveaway is in the works, coming within the next two weeks. Keep your eyes peeled for that, more frequent blog posts, and new items soon!

About soliloquyjewelry

I was born, raised, and am currently living in the Charlestown neighborhood of Boston, MA. My love of books, stones, and jewelry itself inspire my designs; hence my shop name, Soliloquy Jewelry, and its motto, "Symbolic adornment for bohemian souls." All of my pieces are handmade of metal and stone, and hold their own significances to literary, metaphysical, and symbolic realms. Each piece has a story that I strive to include in my item descriptions in my shop. I feel deeply connected to my work, and would like its wearers to feel the same.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

